In Pforzheim a revamp of the pedestrian zone in Westliche Karl-Friedrich-Strasse produced a spacious, modern and inviting area for shopping and recreation.

Dry feet throughout the city centre

Richard Brink products provide drainage for a timelessly modern pedestrian zone

The city of Pforzheim wanted to revamp Westliche Karl-Friedrich-Strasse, transforming it into a modern, spacious and inviting pedestrian zone. To that end, an area measuring around 200 m in length was paved with high-quality concrete tiling, and recreation and traffic areas were redesigned. Fortis concrete channels with heavy-duty slotted attachments from Richard Brink are used here to implement discreet drainage lines throughout the entire zone.

The pedestrian zone between Marktplatz and Leopoldstrasse in Pforzheim has animated the city centre for over 30 years. City officials decided to undertake extensive measures to revamp the urban area in order to bring it back up to a modern standard that would meet modern requirements.

Versatile use

Landscape architects Prof. Schmidt – Treiber – Partner based in Leonberg coordinated the project in the work phases from the preliminary design to the award of the contract. Weber-Ingenieure GmbH from Pforzheim was also involved in supervising the project. The pedestrian zone, which features a row of trees, was given a relaxing 9 m wide recreation area, which was furnished with striking public seating somewhat organically arranged, consisting of concrete substructures and broad wooden benches. A spacious 8 m wide traffic route for pedestrians and cyclists was also included in the design. The entire zone comprises about 5,400 m². Of this, around 3,000 m² were covered with concrete blocks, 1,750 m² with large concrete slabs and 500 m² with concrete paving. The new tiling picks up the colour scheme of the existing pavement at Marktplatz – rosé, ochre and sand shades – and continues it throughout the pedestrian zone. Simple light columns positioned at the axis of each lime tree along the zone add to the rhythm of the greenery. And the LED lights, which illuminate the trees from below, lend the recreation area a modern ambiance in the evening and night-time.

Discreet, functional and custom-made

A custom-made solution was needed in order to provide reliable drainage that is also as discreet as possible for the public space in the city centre. Not a problem: Richard Brink GmbH & Co. KG was able to manufacture and deliver a custom-made solution with ease. In total, 441 m of Fortis concrete channels were used in this project. They were installed by employees of Harsch Bau GmbH based in Bretten. The channels from Richard Brink meet load class D 400 requirements and will withstand the weight of delivery vehicles driving over them in the pedestrian zone over the long term. The concrete channels were covered with heavy-duty slotted attachments made from stainless steel. What’s more, 42 custom-made drainage units and 42 flush boxes ensure easy cleaning of the discreet drainage system. These units and boxes are sealed using paved inlays filled with the same flooring material found in the surrounding area.

Impressive quality

The fitters on site were impressed with the products from Richard Brink. Installation and integration of the channels, drainage units and flush boxes were easy. First a concrete foundation was laid for the concrete channels to anchor them securely in the ground. Once the heavy-duty slotted attachments were fitted, the channel combinations could then be encased in precisely-fitting concrete.

The end result is a discreet, hardly noticeable and yet functional drainage solution, just as requested. The high-quality products from Richard Brink contributed much to the discreet look. ‘Thanks to their sleek design and quality craftsmanship, the slotted attachments of the channels blend in ideally with the surrounding surface. All of the parts and materials installed have met the criteria set for them,’ the foreman Andreas Rauscher from Harsch Bau GmbH concluded.

An inviting recreation area with organically arranged seating was created for passers-by underneath the existing row of 30-year-old lime trees. The seating includes elements of the concrete paving around it and features broad wooden benches.Large concrete slabs in rosé, ochre and sand shades echo the colour scheme of the pavement at Marktplatz and separate areas for shopping or dining from the pedestrian traffic.The heavy-duty slotted attachments from Richard Brink blend in with the concrete paving precisely and discreetly.Additional inspection and flush boxes ensure easy cleaning of the drainage system. These boxes are sealed using paved inlays that can be filled with the same concrete slabs found in the surrounding area.The Fortis concrete channel is designed for load classes A 15 to D 400. It can easily withstand the weight of delivery vehicles driving over it.The heavy-duty slotted attachments from the metal products manufacturer have also been designed for stringent requirements in conformance with load class E 600. Together the channel body and attachment make a discreet yet robust drainage solution.Drainage units and flush boxes can be added to the concrete channels as desired. These units and boxes are fitted with plastic drain nozzles for pipes of nominal widths DN 100 or DN 150 as standard.Cleaning the drainage system is very easy thanks to the removable paved inlays above the drainage units.

In Pforzheim ist mit der Neugestaltung der Fußgängerzone im Bereich der Westlichen Karl-Friedrich-Straße ein weiträumiges, modernes und einladendes Areal zum Shoppen und Verweilen entstanden.

Trockenen Fußes durch die Innenstadt

Produkte der Firma Richard Brink entwässern zeitlos moderne Fußgängerzone

Die Neugestaltung einer modernen, weiträumigen und einladenden Fußgängerzone – dieses Ziel verfolgte die Stadt Pforzheim in der Westlichen Karl-Friedrich-Straße. Dafür sorgen auf einer Länge von rund 200 m hochwertige Bodenbeläge sowie umgestaltete Aufenthalts- und Bewegungszonen. Für eine unauffällige Linienentwässerung des gesamten Bereichs kommen Betonrinnen des Typs Fortis samt Schwerlast-Schlitzaufsätzen der Firma Richard Brink zum Einsatz.

Seit über 30 Jahren belebt die Fußgängerzone zwischen dem Marktplatz und der Leopoldstraße in Pforzheim die Innenstadt. Um den Stadtbereich wieder auf einen zeitgemäßen und den heutigen Anforderungen entsprechenden Standard zu heben, entschieden sich die Verantwortlichen für umfassende Maßnahmen zur Aufwertung.

Vielfältige Möglichkeiten der Nutzung

Die Landschaftsarchitekten Prof. Schmidt – Treiber – Partner, Leonberg, betreuten in der Folgezeit das Projekt in den Leistungsphasen vom Vorentwurf bis zur Vergabe. An der Objektüberwachung war zusätzlich die Weber-Ingenieure GmbH aus Pforzheim beteiligt. Die durch eine Baumreihe geprägte Fußgängerzone erhielt eine ruhige, 9 m breite Aufenthaltszone. Diese wurde mit einer ansprechenden, in Teilen organisch gestalteten Stadtmöblierung, bestehend aus Beton-Unterkonstruktionen und großflächigen Sitzgelegenheiten aus Holz, ausgestattet. Hinzu kam eine großzügige, 8 m breite Bewegungszone für Fußgänger und Fahrradfahrer. Insgesamt umfasst der Bereich circa 5.400 m². Von diesen wurden rund 3.000 m² Fläche mit Beton-Pflasterplatten bedeckt, 1.750 m² mit Beton-Großformatplatten und 500 m² mit Betonpflaster. Der neue Belag greift das Farbschema des bestehenden Pflasters am Marktplatz in Rosé, Ocker und Sandfarben auf und setzt dieses in der Fußgängerzone fort. In der Baumachse platzierte, schlichte Lichtstelen unterstützen zudem den Rhythmus der Linden. Zusätzlich verleihen LED-Leuchten, die die Bäume von unten bestrahlen, dem Aufenthaltsbereich einen modernen, atmosphärischen Look in den Abend- und Nachtstunden.

Dezent, funktional, maßgefertigt

Um die öffentliche Fläche in der Innenstadt zuverlässig, aber zugleich auch möglichst unauffällig zu entwässern, bedurfte es einer maßgefertigten Lösung. Diese konnte durch die Richard Brink GmbH & Co. KG problemlos produziert und ausgeliefert werden. Insgesamt kamen bei diesem Projekt 441 m der Betonrinne Fortis zum Einsatz, die von den Mitarbeitern der Harsch Bau GmbH, Bretten, montiert wurden. Die Rinnen aus dem Hause Brink erfüllen die Anforderungen der Belastungsklasse D 400 und halten so dem Gewicht des einfahrenden Lieferverkehrs in die Fußgängerzone dauerhaft stand. Abgedeckt wurden die Betonrinnen mit Schwerlast-Schlitzaufsätzen aus Edelstahl.

Die mühelose Reinigung des dezent wirkenden Entwässerungssystems gewährleisten 42 auf Maß produzierte Sink- sowie 42 Spülkästen. Diese lassen sich mit Pflasterschalen verschließen, in die das verwendete Belagsmaterial der umgebenden Pflasterung eingesetzt wurde.

Qualität, die überzeugt

Die Verarbeiter vor Ort zeigten sich von den Produkten der Firma Richard Brink überzeugt. So gelang die Montage und Integration der Rinnen sowie der Sink- und Spülkästen auf unkomplizierte Weise. Zunächst wurden die Betonrinnen mit Betonfundamenten versehen, die diese fest im Boden verankern. Nach anschließender Befestigung der Schwerlast-Schlitzaufsätze konnte die Rinnenkombination passgenau eingeschalt und ausbetoniert werden.

Das abschließende Ergebnis der Arbeiten entspricht dem Wunsch nach einer kaum sichtbaren und dennoch funktionalen Entwässerungslösung. Dazu konnten die hochwertigen Produkte der Firma Richard Brink maßgeblich beitragen. „Durch ihr schlankes Design und ihre gute Verarbeitung ließen sich die Schlitzaufsätze der Rinnen optimal in die Oberfläche integrieren. Alle verbauten Teile und Materialien haben die Anforderungen, die an sie gestellt wurden, erfüllt“, resümiert Bauleiter Andreas Rauscher von der Harsch Bau GmbH.

Unterhalb einer bestehenden Baumreihe aus 30 Jahre alten Linden entstand für die Passanten eine einladende Aufenthaltszone mit organisch geformten Sitzgelegenheiten. Auch diese greifen die Materialität der Betonpflasterung auf und sind mit großzügigen Sitzflächen aus Holz versehen worden.Großformatige Betonplatten in Rosé, Ocker und Sandfarben komplettieren das Farbschema des Pflasters am Marktplatz und trennen Bereiche für Einzelhandel oder Gastronomie von der Fußgängerzone ab.Die Schwerlast-Schlitzaufsätze der Firma Richard Brink fügen sich passgenau und unauffällig in das Betonpflaster ein.Zusätzliche Revisions- sowie Spülkästen gewährleisten die mühelose Reinigung des Entwässerungssystems. Diese lassen sich mit Pflasterschalen verschließen, die mit den gleichen Betonpflastersteinen des umgebenden Bodenbelags ausgefüllt werden können.Die Betonrinne Fortis ist für die Belastungsklassen A 15 bis D 400 konstruiert. Damit hält sie den Beanspruchungen durch einfahrende Lieferfahrzeuge problemlos stand.Auch die Schwerlast-Schlitzaufsätze des Metallwarenherstellers sind für hohe Beanspruchungen, angelehnt an die Belastungsklasse E 600, konzipiert worden. Zusammen ergeben Rinnenkörper und Aufsatz eine dezente, aber widerstandsfähige Entwässerungslösung.Die Betonrinnen lassen sich beliebig durch Sink- und Spülkästen ergänzen. Diese sind standardmäßig mit Ablaufstutzen aus Kunststoff für die Nennweiten DN 100 oder DN 150 versehen.Dank der herausnehmbaren Pflasterschalen oberhalb der Sinkkästen lässt sich die Reinigung des Entwässerungssystems ganz einfach vornehmen.