A block of 25 flats across multiple floors was built in Detmold as social housing.

A long-term view of functionality

Access balconies in a block of flats equipped with drainage channels from Richard Brink

A construction project in the city of Detmold shows that social housing does not have to compromise on the quality of the design and materials used. These partially covered areas are drained using Stabile and Hydra inspection channels and drainage channels, keeping residents’ feet dry when they access their flats along their balconies. The high-quality products from Richard Brink GmbH & Co. KG ensure that precipitation will continue to be drained away reliably for years to come thanks to their precisely-fitting installation and easy maintenance.

Back in autumn 2015, the city of Detmold decided to commission the construction of social housing on a plot of its own land. The new build, which includes a total of 25 flats measuring between 55 and 97 square metres, was started in January 2017 and residents first began moving in in June 2018. Experts from RSAI rabbe sugge gbr architekten ingenieure based in Detmold took care of all of the planning and design, from the initial evaluation to project management.

The flats in the two-to-four-storey building situated on a slope can only be accessed via balconies, which themselves are accessible using paths that run along the slope as well as outdoor steps and two stairwells. As the balconies are so exposed, the project managers put special criteria in place for potential drainage solutions in line with the requirements set out in DIN 18195-4 for waterproofing against ground moisture and non-accumulating seepage water. In addition to ensuring quick and reliable drainage, the installed channels also had to be easy to inspect so as to make the maintenance of clear channels possible for targeted drainage in the long term.

The right solution for critical areas of the building

The roofing company in charge of implementation opted for Stabile and Hydra drainage channels and the Hydra inspection channel from Richard Brink. These channels are used in the balconies on all floors, keeping them permanently dry. The channels from the metal products manufacturer offered lots of advantages: firstly, the custom channels and gratings made of premium materials make installation easy because they don’t have to be cut to size on site and tediously adapted. Secondly, the height-adjustable Hydra drainage channels can always be perfectly aligned with the height of the slab flooring.

This means the channels can be easily and precisely fit to the level thresholds of all the entrance doors in the stairwell and the front doors to the flats. The channels in the door reveals were connected to the drainage channels below the balcony walls by inspection channels. Any precipitation or collecting water is therefore quickly directed away from the highly critical entrance areas. To protect the waterproof sheeting underneath the slab flooring from the metal elements as required by building regulations, protective mats were installed between the sheeting and the channels. This approach ensures that the water running in the channels does not pose a threat to the structural fabric of the building.

Maintenance made easy

Continual maintenance is essential in ensuring long-lasting, reliable drainage. Cleaning conventional inspection and branch channels is a cumbersome task because the gratings have to be removed. The inspection channel from Richard Brink, on the other hand, is easy to open by simply removing the slab above it. The channels are manufactured in standard, conventional sizes for this purpose. Virtually invisible, the inspection channels from Richard Brink not only meet the requirements for a highly functional drainage system but also blend in impressively thanks to their discreet, appealing aesthetic.

The final new build speaks for itself: the building, access balconies and outdoor areas come together as a successful project that – despite being planned as social housing – exudes high quality in terms of the design and materials used. Not least, the products from Richard Brink serve as functional, visually appealing elements in the building’s open-air walkways.

The individual floors of the block of flats are stacked along a slope. Paths and outdoor steps lead to the access points and terraces for the different levels.Residents on all four floors can only access their flats via partially covered balconies.As the balconies are so exposed, the project managers put special criteria in place for the drainage solution used in the open-air walkways.The access balconies are reliably drained in accordance with DIN 18195-4 for waterproofing against ground moisture and non-accumulating seepage water using inspection boxes, drainage channels and gratings from Richard Brink.The access balconies are reliably drained in accordance with DIN 18195-4 for waterproofing against ground moisture and non-accumulating seepage water using inspection boxes, drainage channels and gratings from Richard Brink.The custom Hydra and Stabile drainage channels are used on all floors in the level thresholds of the entrance doors.The inspection channels made of hot-dip galvanised steel collect precipitation in the especially critical entrance areas on the access balconies, which require special protection from moisture.The metal products manufacturer makes the inspection channels in conventional sizes for the slab flooring used. Once covered, the channels are virtually invisible.The inspection channels act as connectors between the channels in the door reveals and those under the balcony walls, ensuring the targeted drainage of precipitation and collecting water.As they are adapted to match the size of the flooring, the channels are almost completely covered, allowing them to blend in discreetly with the design of the access balconies.

In Detmold ist ein Sozialbau mit insgesamt 25 Wohneinheiten über mehrere Etagen entstanden.

Funktionalität auf lange Sicht

Laubengänge in Mehrparteienhaus mit Dränagerinnen der Firma Richard Brink ausgestattet

Dass auch beim sozialen Wohnungsbau keine Kompromisse in Bezug auf Gestaltungs- und Materialqualität eingegangen werden müssen, stellt ein Bauprojekt der Stadt Detmold unter Beweis. Damit die Bewohner zu ihren über Laubengänge erreichbaren Wohnungen trockenen Fußes gelangen, werden die halboffenen Bereiche mit Revisionskanälen sowie Dränagerinnen des Typs Stabile und Hydra entwässert. Die hochwertigen Produkte der Richard Brink GmbH & Co. KG sichern dank passgenauem Einbau und einfacher Instandhaltung die zielgerichtete Ableitung anfallender Wassermengen nachhaltig.

Bereits im Herbst 2015 beschloss die Stadt Detmold die Errichtung von sozialem Wohnungsbau auf eigenem Grundstück. Der Neubau der insgesamt 25 Wohneinheiten zwischen 55 und 97 Quadratmetern Fläche wurde im Januar 2017 gestartet, ab Juni 2018 erfolgte der Erstbezug durch die Bewohner. Die gesamte Planungsleistung, von der Grundlagenermittlung bis zur Objektbetreuung, wurde von der RSAI rabbe sugge gbr architekten ingenieure aus Detmold durchgeführt.

Die Wohnungen des zwei- bis viergeschossigen Gebäudes mit Hanglage sind ausschließlich über Laubengänge zugänglich, die wiederum über am Hang entlangführende Wege sowie Außentreppen und zwei Treppenhäuser erreichbar sind. Aufgrund ihrer exponierten Lage stellten die Verantwortlichen besondere Ansprüche an mögliche Entwässerungslösungen für die Laubengänge nach DIN 18195-4 zur Abdichtung gegen Bodenfeuchte und nichtstauendes Sickerwasser. Neben der schnellen und zuverlässigen Entwässerung war zudem die unkomplizierte Revisionierbarkeit der verbauten Rinnen gefragt, um den zielgerichteten Wasserablauf auf lange Sicht zu gewährleisten.

Die richtige Lösung für sensible Gebäude-Bereiche

Der verarbeitende Dachdeckerbetrieb entschied sich daraufhin für Dränagerinnen der Typen Stabile und Hydra sowie für den Revisionskanal Hydra der Firma Richard Brink.  Diese kommen auf sämtlichen Etagen in den Laubengängen zum Einsatz und halten die Gänge dauerhaft trocken. Die Produkte des Metallwarenherstellers konnten hierbei in vielerlei Hinsicht punkten: Zum einen erleichtern die maßgefertigten Rinnen und Roste aus hochwertigen Materialien die Montage, da ein vorheriger Zuschnitt sowie zeitaufwendige Anpassungen entfallen. Zum anderen lassen sich die höhenverstellbaren Dränagerinnen Hydra perfekt dem Höhenniveau des jeweiligen Plattenbelags angleichen.

Folgerichtig ließen sich die Rinnen problemlos und passgenau an den ebenerdigen Schwellenbereichen aller Eingangstüren, sowohl im Treppenhaus als auch vor den Wohnungseingängen, verbauen. Mithilfe von Revisionskanälen wurden die Rinnen der Türlaibungen an die Dränagerinnen unterhalb der Brüstungen angeschlossen. Anfallendes Niederschlags- oder Schwellwasser wird aus den hochsensiblen Eingangsbereichen entsprechend schnell abgeleitet. Um die Abdichtungsbahnen unterhalb des Plattenbelags den Bauvorschriften entsprechend vor den Metallelementen zu schützen, wurden Bauschutzmatten zwischen Folie und Rinne verbaut. So ist sichergestellt, dass das in die Rinnen einfließende Wasser die Bausubstanz nicht gefährdet.

Instandhaltung leicht gemacht

Für eine langanhaltend zuverlässige Entwässerung ist darüber hinaus eine kontinuierliche Instandhaltung unerlässlich. Bei herkömmlichen Revisions- und Stichkanälen gestaltet sich die Reinigung der Rinnen durch die Entnahme der Roste als schwierig. Der Revisionskanal der Firma Richard Brink ermöglicht hingegen die einfache Öffnung des Kanals, indem das aufliegende Plattenmaterial entfernt wird. Die Kanäle werden dazu in den gebräuchlichen und handelsüblichen Größen gefertigt. Nahezu unsichtbar erfüllen die Revisionskanäle aus dem Hause Brink damit nicht nur die Anforderungen an ein hochfunktionales Entwässerungssystem, sondern überzeugen ebenso durch eine dezente und ansprechende Optik.

Das Ergebnis des Neubaus spricht für sich: Das Gebäude sowie die Laubengänge und Außenbereiche ergeben in ihrer Gesamtheit ein überaus gelungenes Objekt, das, obwohl als Sozialbau geplant, ein sehr hohes Niveau an Materialqualität und Gestaltung vermittelt. Nicht zuletzt tragen dazu die Produkte der Firma Richard Brink als funktionale und optisch ansprechende Elemente bei der Gestaltung der Freiluftflure bei.

Die einzelnen Etagen des Wohnkomplexes liegen gestaffelt in direkter Hanglage. Wege und Außentreppen führen zu den jeweiligen Wohneingängen und Terrassenflächen.Die einzelnen Wohnungen erreichen die Bewohner auf den insgesamt vier Etagen ausschließlich über halboffene Laubengänge.Aufgrund ihrer offenen und damit exponierten Lage stellten die Verantwortlichen besondere Anforderungen an die Entwässerungslösung der Freiluftflure.Die Laubengänge werden nach DIN 18195-4 zur Abdichtung gegen Bodenfeuchte und nichtstauendes Sickerwasser mit Revisionskästen, Dränagerinnen und Rosten der Firma Richard Brink zuverlässig entwässert.Die maßgefertigten Dränagerinnen Hydra und Stabile kommen auf sämtlichen Etagen im ebenerdigen Schwellenbereich der Eingangstüren zum Einsatz.Die Revisionskanäle aus feuerverzinktem Stahl fangen anfallenden Niederschlag in den besonders vor Feuchtigkeit zu schützenden Eingangsbereichen der Laubengänge auf.Der Metallwarenhersteller fertigt die Revisionskanäle in den handelsüblichen Größen des aufliegenden Plattenmaterials. So sind sie abgedeckt nahezu unsichtbar.Die Revisionskanäle fungieren als Verbindung zwischen den Rinnen der Türlaibungen und denen im Brüstungsbereich, sodass Niederschlags- oder Schwellwasser gezielt abgeleitet wird.Durch ihre dem Bodenbelag angepasste Größe sind die Revisionskanäle fast vollständig abgedeckt, wodurch sie sich zurückhaltend in die Gestaltung der Laubengänge einfügen.